Skip to main content

Athletics

Model has an active student body with a variety of opportunities for athletic involvement, as early as the 4th grade. Service learning and participation in a sport, club or organization are graduation requirements, so it is not surprising that 80% of Model students participate in athletics.

Athletic Director: Scotty Sutton, Scotty.Sutton@eku.edu

Asst. Athletic Director: Melanie Smith, Melanie.Smith@eku.edu


Healthy at Model: Athletics Guidelines

For the health and safety of our community, our athletics community is asked to follow these important guidelines this season:

  • No use of locker rooms for home or away teams. 
  • No shared water coolers. Teams and or players must bring their own water bottle
  • Mask must be worn by spectators at all times. 
  • Mask must be worn by coaches at all times.  
  • Mask must be worn by players. Players can remove the mask to play in the game. If they are on the bench, they must wear a mask.
  • Spectators will have their temperature checked and complete a short questionnaire before entering
  • Admission will be taken at the gate: $5.00 for varsity games and $3.00 for middle school
  • Games in the gym will be limited to 20% capacity (83 people)
  • Visiting teams for volleyball must send a roster with two spectators per player 
  • Transportation to away games will be limited.  Each player must sit every other seat and with their mask on. 
  • All players must have their temperature checked before boarding and must wear a mask the entire trip.
  • Cheerleaders must wear mask while participating
  • Indoor locker rooms will not be used.  Players must arrive in uniform.  If we are traveling immediately after school, two players at a time can enter the locker room to change into their uniform before boarding the bus.
  • Spectators will follow responsible social distancing of at least 6 feet
  • The concession stand will only be allowed to provide pre-packaged food or drinks (chips, candy, coke or sports drinks)
  • Players will maintain responsible social distancing of at least 6 feet on the bench

Thank you for doing your part to support the Model Athletics community!


Fall 2020 Athletics

Girls Basketball (Grades 5 - 8): Coach Lee Cummings Leeetta.Cummings@gmail.com

Cheer (Grades 5 - 8): Coach Sequoia Wheeler Sequoia.Wheeler@gmail.com

Cross Country (Grades 6 - 12): Coach Bryan Dyer Bdyer@dyerassoc.net

Dance (Grades 6 - 12): Coach Lauren Kundert LaurenMKundert@gmail.com

Men's Golf (Grades 7 - 12): Coach Donnie Kidd ModelLabGolf@hotmail.com

Women's Golf (Grades 7 - 12): Coach John Morgerson John.Morgerson@eku.edu

Boy's Soccer (Grades 6 - 8): Coach John Smith JohnSmith@habeggercorp.com

Girls' Soccer (Grades 5 - 8): Coach Catherine Wibbels Catherine.Wibbels@gmail.com

Men's Soccer (Grades 9-12): Coach Tim Masthay Tim.Masthay@eku.edu

Women's Soccer (Grades 9 - 12): Coach Mike Austin Mike.Austin@eku.edu

Volleyball (Grades 7 - 12): Coach Anthony Mayer atmpenny73@yahoo.com

Open /*deleted href=#openmobile*/